brainwash

um..you did say Harvard…?

In Uncategorized on 10/01/2007 at 4:09 am

And now, just when you thought life couldn’t get any better (yea right), here come news flash we’re all waiting for,

Imperfect Students Wanted
Word on the street is that it’s OK to stop pretending like you’re perfect. According to Jess Lord, dean of admission and financial aid at Haverford College (no not Harvard, and sadly nor McGill), “everybody’s imperfect. Since that’s true for all (students), those that portray that aspect of themselves are that much more authentic.”As colleges continue to search for unique applicants with distinguishing characteristics, some counselors say that coming across as “too perfect” only makes you sound robotic and insincere. Steven Roy Goodman, an independent college counselor, even goes as far as telling his students to make a deliberate mistake in their applications. “Sometimes it’s a typo,” he says. “It’s pretty easy to fall into that trap of trying to do everything perfectly and there’s no spark left.”

uhmm… rrrrright. why don’t you all try it and let me know how it turns out ;~)

  1. …行ってきました~p(^^)q☆金閣寺の前にて記念写真★観光をする時間が今日一日しかなかったのですが、嵐山・嵯続きをみる 『著作権保護のため、記事の一部のみ表示されております

  2. What is more interesting for me is the idea that masses of people otherwise perfectly intelligent and NORMAL are convinced and coerced (how so otherwise!!???) into stripping bear naked to romp and have their PICTURE taken for all posterity to leer at. How sad and curious

  3. HEY!! Here I am, the quintissential imperfect student! Take me!! Oh my god cant even spell quintesstential. I’m hopeless

  4. Hi, guys thanks for coming to my blog..you have a very cool concept. This is in response to Paul’s comment concerning people willing to ‘expose’ themselves. Actually, I just would point out that one person’s artistic ‘integrity’ is another’s artistic ‘wasteland’. We should not be so quick to rush into judgment of others.

  5. Somehow I doubt there are students sooo perfect that they should `..make a deliberate mistake in their applications.` lol c`mon now this has to be a tongue in cheek sarcastic `joke` Right? Not very funny actually. I was nervous wreck waiting for admissions letter to McGill and worked my butt off just to make the top percentile, never mind PERFECT

  6. Perhaps write, “I will teach them ALL a lesson for laughing at me! ALL of them you hear?! Ha, ha ha!” Then cross it out and write. “I will never teach them all a lesson.”

  7. Suzanne and I have been friends since Philly.
    When I moved to Maine, she moved to Italy.

    She asks me hard questions.
    She expects answers.

    Last weekend she asked me to do this:
    “Describe your ideal man.”

    I misunderstood. I thought she meant ‘perfect.’
    I laughed.
    I laughed really hard.
    She waited while I caught my breath.

    She is still waiting for my answer.

Leave a comment